Chapter 25 – The Royal Crow

Screen Shot 2014-03-29 at 10.39.03 PMScreen Shot 2014-03-29 at 10.34.54 PM Screen Shot 2014-03-23 at 3.26.19 AM

*(Zhu Zhi Xiao as Huang Wu)         *(Luo Jin as Tu Suo)             *(Yang Rong as Lin Yu)

*These are the people who I would like to play the character of the novel.

Tu Suo walked in and Lin Yu attacked him. She ran into him headlong, he caught her and swung her around, just like he always did whenever she did this, even when they were children.

Lin Yu laughed, “I’m 900 hundred years old now, a full grown demon, stop!”  Tu Suo smiled, his eyes twinkling, “when you stop trying to attack me, i’ll stop throwing you into the air.”

Lin Yu grinned,  “Ge ge, did you find the pendant?” Tu Suo shook his head, “No. I’ll keep looking tomorrow.” Lin Yu’s grin dropped, she looked at Yu Zhu, her eyes worried, “I’ll go with you.”

Tu Suo tweaked her nose, “There you go, thinking of others before you worry about yourself.” He kept his arm around her shoulder, “Lin Yu, it’s too dangerous right now for you to go outside now. You have to stay in, be good and listen to me.” She looked like she wanted to argue.

Grandfather hobbled out of the room, “Tu Suo, come in here.”

Tuo Suo walked into the sparse little room. The old man leaned on his cane, he could sense the power coursing in Tu Suo, “what do you plan now, your majesty?”

Tu Suo showed him his arm. the silver outline of the sword stretched from his shoulder to hand. “We have what we came for. I planned to build alliances with other Zodiac houses. Some of them are still loyal to the Jade Rabbit. With Wei Yun by my side, the other half of the Zodiac will think twice before going against me.”

Grandfather looked to where Yu Zhu and Lin Yu sat, “What about the two girls.”

Tu Suo looked surprised, “They stay here. I will not risk Lin Yu in my wars.”

Grandfather did not look convinced, “you and I both know that Yu Zhu and Lin Yu were meant for great things. Keeping them here, while You and I go cavorting off to unite the demon kingdom. Does this seem wise?”

Tu Suo didn’t know the answer. He had known Lin Yu since she was just six hundred years old, grew up with her, guarded her and protected her. He cared for her more than anything in the world. “I can’t involve her in this war. Half the demon realm hates her Aunt  and the other half hates her mother, if I take her, imagine the danger we put her through.” He looked at the old man, “You should stay here with them, this might be a fatal journey.”

Grandfather glared at the young man, “I fought besides the Jade Rabbit in the wars between Gods and Demons. I watched and protected more than ten emperors of our kingdom, before your birth. It is I who took you from your cradle to escape the fall of our kingdom. I will be by your side until I become ash.”

Tu Suo bent his head his eyes bright as he contemplated the old man’s sacrafice to keep the Jade Rabbit’s last hope alive. He thought of something, “Did you know Wei Yun before he was banished to the demon realms?”

The old man took a long sigh, “Yes. A long time ago, I was young. Just a soldier in the Jade Rabbit’s guard.”

“you blame him, for what happened to the Jade Rabbit and the 7th Princess ?” Tu Suo asked The old man looked at Yu Zhu out in the courtyard and answered softly, “In a way, we are all to blame for their fates.”

Tu Suo wanted to ask for the truth of what had happened all those hundreds of thousands years ago, but he could tell that Grandfather was never going to tell it. Time could not heal all wounds.

Suddenly, outside the cottage, someone hollered, “LIN YU IF YOU WANT THIS PENDANT, GET OUT HERE. TODAY IS YOUR WEDDING DAY.”

Tu Suo’s strode outside to see Lin Yu’s face was entirely red she looked as if she was about to charge outside. He grabbed her arm, “Stay here with Yu Zhu. I’ll go first.” He walked out. Ho Pa Lai had Yu Zhu’s jade dragon pendant dangling in his hands, there was a smirk on his face. Behind him, thirty of his cronies carrying swords, knives and clubs jeered at Tu Suo.

Tu Suo bowed courteously to Ho Pa Lai, “Young Master Ho seems to be in a good mood this morning.”

Ho Pa Lai looked at Tu Suo as if he was filth on earth, “I’m talking to Lin Yu. Get out of my way.”

Ho Pa Lai grinned, there was a gleeful glint in his eyes, as he called to Yu Zhu, “I know you dropped this, if you want it back, get Lin Yu to marry me. If you’re good, you can be my bride too. I promise I won’t eat you” He thought about how Yu Zhu smelled as a human, “Unless of course, Lin Yu allows it.”

Tu Suo was still coldy polite, “Lin Yu is busy at the moment, however, if you wish, you can leave the pendant with me.” The tone of his voice made the request seem more of a demand.

Ho Pa Lai sneered at Tu Suo, “Get out of my way. I’m taking Lin Yu from this place. My men outnumber you thirty to one.”

“I’m going to kill him.” Lin Yu spat out through gritted teeth, she was embarrassed to the point of tears. Now the entire town will know Ho Pa Lai’s intentions, she’ll have to dig a hole in the ground and live there for a thousand years to escape the shame.

Three of Ho Pa Lai’s cronies ran at Tu Suo, swords in hand. Tu Suo rammed his fist into one man’s belly and he flew, eighty feet in the air. Tu Suo flipped into the air and kicked the two in the head. All three stayed down. Ho Pa Lai and his men took a step back. This wasn’t the normal back alley brawl they were accustomed to. Demons were by nature fast and strong creatures, to do such injury to the men, Tu Suo was powerful indeed.

A black shape swooped from the air. Two cronies rose up, screaming as they flew higher and higher with the black shape, until they became tiny black dots. Suddenly they fell, slamming into the ground, they lost control of their human form reverted back to their original salamander form, dying in the grass.

Huang Wu landed beside Tu Suo, “What are these cretins doing in front of the cottage. They’re going to disturb Lord Wei Yun’s rest.”

Ho Pa Lai wanted to run away, he was practically peeing in his pants from the arrival of this new stranger. But his men, they’ll laugh at him if he retreated. He gathered the remaining bit of his courage and yelled out haltingly, “Who the hell are you. Get out of here before I make you into stew!”

Huang Wu slowly turned to see who dared to yell at him. His black eyes seemed to pierce through the frightened pig demon and his cronies, who all wished they had listened to their mothers more and followed Ho Pa Lai less.

“You are not fit to speak to me.” Huang Wu said, his head held high, there was danger in his voice, “I am the son of Hei Tian Crow king and prince of the western skies.” Some of the cronies lost control of their human form after learning who the regal man was, turning into spiders, dogs, and cats. The others sank to their knees, praying that this was not the day they lost their lives.

Ho Pa Lai sat on the ground, his legs barely supporting him. He quickly knelt, touching his head into the earth repeatedly, “Forgive me your highness, this worthless one did not know.” He felt blood trickle from his forehead. He offered the pendant with his shaking hand, “Please spare me! It’s all my men’s fault they put me up to this.” The cronies just shivered in their spots, too scared to move, one of them starting crying silently.

Huang Wu’s lip curled in a self satisfied smile. He looked at the two girls standing in the doorway, they stared at Ho Pa Lai. Huang Wu waved at Ho Pa Lai and the pendant flew lazily to his hands. He pointed  Ho Pa Lai, who was still begging for his life while banging his head into the earth.

“Look carefully.” He called to Lin Yu, “That. Is how you should be treating me from now on.”

Huang Wu gave a look of utter distain at Ho Pa Lai, “If you ever bother Lin Yu again, I will slow roast you over a volcano.” Ho Pa Lai took the hint, he and his men bowed, got up, and sprinted down the road, half of them still in their animal and insect forms.

Huang Wu looked at the jade pendant in his hand, he frowned, it looked familiar for some reason.

Tu Suo looked at Huang Wu, “I was handling it, young prince.”

“You are nothing but a rabbit demon. They were never going to listen to you.” Huang Wu said carelessly. Tu Suo’s eyes narrowed, he clenched his fists but said nothing.

“Give it here, stupid crow.” Lin Yu called, glaring at him for his rudeness to Tu Suo. She took a step at Huang Wu.

He raised the pendant above his head, “From now on, call me by my proper title.” He teased, “I am Your royal highness, the great Prince Huang Wu. Also, kneel and pay me proper respects.”

Lin Yu walked up to Huang Wu. She kept walking until her nose nearly touched his. He backed away, startled at the impudence and nearly tripped on a rock. She grabbed his hand before he could fall and plucked the pendant from his fingers. She grinned and bit down on his hand with her fangs, exactly where she had bitten him before.

“You…again…” There was rage and helplessness as Huang Wu sank to his knees, he tried to threaten, “I’m going to skin you alive.” Only garbled noises came out as he felt on the grass.

“Too bad there’s no mud this time.” Lin Yu said as she walked away, Tu Suo followed, a grin on his face as they left the royal prince on the grass outside of the cottage.

“Royal prince indeed.” Lin Yu muttered darkly as she threw a backwards glance at poisoned man, “More like royal pain in the ass.”

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

29 thoughts on “Chapter 25 – The Royal Crow

  1. Little Red March 30, 2014 at 3:33 am Reply

    This novel is such a delight. Every chapter is interesting and intriguing, new conflicts arise and new questions are raised.
    I’m always so swooned by Wei Yun and I love your choice of actor (Loved Liu Shi Shi and Wallace Huo in Yi Zhi Mei). That’s a big ” Oh hell yes!”
    Can I add that I love the fact that you explore the mythical world of gods and demons but also the Zodiac house? Sooo interesting !!!
    I think the crow prince will take an interest in Lin Yu very soon, every time she do not fail to rmake a fool of him. So funny ^^
    And what about the human world? Who is the OTP? Who is really the Grandpa? I can’t wait to read what will happen to our heroine.

    And as always, Thank You 🙂

  2. dramatictealeaves March 30, 2014 at 4:05 am Reply

    Thank you for loving the story! It’s really everyone who reads this story that makes the process of writting it even better.

    As for Wallace and Liu Shi Shi, I love them together and I can’t wait for them to work together again. Though I am eagerly anticipating Liu Shi Shi and Nicky Wu’s period drama.

    I’ve always been fascinated with the zodiacs and can’t wait to get more into the political factionalism of the demon world. I found it interesting that in Chinese folklore animals can be (and usually are) demons who after a long, long time can shape shift into human form, and this “realm” is actually separated from the underworld where humans go to after they die. A demon is called a “Yao” while a spirit/soul is called a “Hun”. In theory, there are actually 4 realms – human, god, demon, and underworld. But I digress.

    As for the Crow Prince, i think more than anything Lin Yu will always get the better of him. Lin Yu is gorgeous, but most men will think twice before pursuing her either because of her family history or her temper. Only the most brave and or foolish goes after her. She has an epic love story coming up, I’ve been really excited to share it, but alas, its not the right time yet. It’ll happen in a few chapters.

    As always, I’m so, so glad for your comment!

    • Little Red March 30, 2014 at 5:32 am Reply

      Hi, thanks for responding so quickly ^^
      Did you know that a new drama starring LSS and WH is being filmed right now? Can’t wait to see them together again on screen. It’s about an emperor and his imperial doctor apparently.
      I will definitely check LSS and NW both period drama and modern one (even if I have BIG reservations)

      I’m aslo very interested in Zodiac things, mythical chinese stories with demons and all. That’s why I’m so happy with your story and I really don’t mind your explanation, it’s very welcomed ^^

      Can’t wait to read LY’s epic love story. If my senses are right, there’s a love triangle and…Hahaha I’m already set on the Crow Prince xD
      I’m not totally shiping this OTP yet but it’s hard not to.

      As for the little princess, I love her!

      By the way, I forgot to say that the last sentence Wei Yun said was “WOW” in the chapter 24. Badass *-*
      Can’t wait to read more and more about him.
      Jia You ! 🙂

      • dramatictealeaves March 30, 2014 at 3:51 pm

        No problem! I love reading these comments and I’m super excited about LSS and WH getting together for another round on TV. I love WH for his comedic and serious turns, he’s one of the few actors who can pull off both with aplomb.

        It’s been wonderful to see how well the folkore and myths parts of the story has been recieved! As for the OTP, Yu Zhu and Lin Yu still have a ways to go before I reveal all the characters in the story. And the human realm is coming right around the corner!

        I love how Wei Yun’s dialogue has been getting good feedback, he’s quietly intense and sometimes I have a hard time making sure all the emotions get through. Thanks!

  3. sanKai March 30, 2014 at 4:47 am Reply

    Haha, I’m guessing there’ll be a love triangle formed of LinYu, TuSuo, and HuangWu, though I’d rather LinYU and TuSuo keep a brother/sister relationship, not that anything’s set in stone yet so I’m just waiting to see how you’ll develop her relationships with the others.At this point, I just love LinYu for being such a dedicated friend to YuZhu (or would they count as sworn sisters at this point? They’re so adorable together!!)
    The novel’s getting greater with every chapter. Thanks so much for your consistent updates and writing such a great story!! I’ve become so attached to this novel now haha.

    • dramatictealeaves March 30, 2014 at 3:59 pm Reply

      I’m getting really attached to it too! It’s really hard not to reveal to people what happens next, especially since I have a couple of big things coming up. As for the relationships, you’re right that Lin Yu gets her fair share of romance, but the male characters are still very much in the air.

      Lin Yu and Yu Zhu are really good for each other, they just get each other, even if Yu Zhu still has a hard time admitting that she’s already let Lin Yu get past the shell around her heart.

      I say this a lot, but I really mean it, thank you so much for reading! I always look forward to the comments.

      • karened April 16, 2014 at 6:32 am

        I’m so glad that Yu Zhu found a friend in Lin Yu after being ‘betrayed’ by her closest ones in the human world. It’ll do so much for her recovery and make her more receptive to accepting other people’s acts of kindness to her.

        And now that GeShi is not possible, I totally don’t mind a HuaShi! Loved them in Guai Xia Yi Zhi Mei! I like Yang Rong and am glad that you gave her the role of Lin Yu, who I guess seems to be the secondary character? If only she stopped working with Yu Zheng who’s bent on making her place second fiddle in every show…The potential for Lin Yu’s story seems higher than for Hua Er, so I hope more storytime will be given to her story!

      • dramatictealeaves April 18, 2014 at 2:12 am

        Yes. I won’t do a Yu Zheng, Lin Yu was destined for an epic story. I honestly have a spin off novel for her that I’m debating if I should write once this story is over. Gah! I’ve said too much!

  4. wingfan March 30, 2014 at 6:08 am Reply

    I’ve been a passive reader up until now. Couldn’t help but leave a comment due to the revelation of Lin Yu’s upcoming love story. I’ve been intrigued by the tragic love stories of her mother and aunt the first time it was mentioned so I can’t help but anticipate how Lin Yu will experience love. Keep up the good work!

    • dramatictealeaves March 30, 2014 at 3:42 pm Reply

      I’ve been heavily hinting that Lin Yu’s aunt and mother wreaked a lot of havoc in the human and demon realms. It actually comes from the Chinese folklore Madame White Snake, it’s one of my most favorite stories growing up. Lin Yu has endured a lot because of what happened back then, and her choices are definitely shaped by the consequences of her family’s choices.

      • karened April 16, 2014 at 6:33 am

        Glad that your story is inspired by so many folklores! For Chinese mythologies, I love the ones in Journey to the West, and Feng Shen Bang most though.

      • dramatictealeaves April 18, 2014 at 2:10 am

        I was extremely fascinated with the tale of the white snake when I was little. Er Lang Shen and Ne Zha were also among my favorites. I use to imagine what the white snake died after Xu Xian died, if she ever regretted it while she was trapped in Lei Feng tower.

        I think even more pitiful was the Green Snake, her loyalty to her sister was absolute. It also made me wonder what on earth happened to her once Bai Su Zhen was imprisoned, and how did their choices affect the Green Snakes’s progeny.

    • dramatictealeaves March 30, 2014 at 3:59 pm Reply

      Also, thank you for reading and commenting! I’m always happy to see what parts make people more excited or intrigued about the story!

  5. chocobana12 March 30, 2014 at 6:42 am Reply

    Ooh, a wittle princey has a crush on someone~ Hehehe It’s so funny how Huang Wu could make demons piss in their pants from fear but gets treated like a door mat by Lin Yu. So funny.

    I’m excited about the future Zodiac Houses aspect. I wonder if you’ll include the cat? 😛

    I’m sad Wei Yun did not show up but at least you’re giving more focus to the other characters.

    • Little Red March 30, 2014 at 6:44 am Reply

      I was thinking the same thing, what about the cat?

      • dramatictealeaves March 30, 2014 at 3:37 pm

        Ahaha I thought about it too, since I was such a fan of fruits baskets. As of now the Zodiac itself is a heading towards a huge showdown with Tu Suo at the center of it. I really wish I could write Tu Suo a book, he’s such an interesting character!

    • dramatictealeaves March 30, 2014 at 3:32 pm Reply

      I’m actually preparing a few Wei Yun centric chapters as we speak actually. And for Lin Yu and Huang Wu, they are adorable together like kittens. I love their developing relationship, and you’re right Lin Yu usually makes the high and mighty prince feel like a fool. That boy needs to be taken down a notch… or twelve.

      • chocobana12 March 30, 2014 at 4:21 pm

        Another FB fan here! Hehehehe~ I think you can’t read/watch mange/anime without ending up with a soft spot for the cat zodiac. XD Yay, more Wei Yun scenes~~~~ And I’m both excited and a little sad that we’ll be brought back to the human realm since most of Yu Zhu’s worries have been sort of put on pause those years she was in the demon world–it’s like she’s isolated from all that could trouble her.

        But it’s really fun reading this story as it gets written, and you have a group of fans already! 😀 Yaaay~ ❤

      • dramatictealeaves March 30, 2014 at 4:44 pm

        Aww thank you for saying that! It’s been really good reading the comments and speculations about who Mei Yan is and what her connection to Wei Yun is. One thing I love is that the readers enjoy the twists as much as I do.

        Yu Zhu has basically been in the demon realms for five years, and she’s going to turn seventeen soon. I’m really sad that she’s leaving too, but I think that the next part of the story is where some of the major things happen!

        I really love every one for the comments and support, it’s really inspirational and I can’t wait for people the read the next chapters!

  6. iceydrey March 31, 2014 at 10:29 am Reply

    Great job thanksomuch!

    • dramatictealeaves March 31, 2014 at 10:31 am Reply

      Thank you for reading, I love comments and feedback! Please keep reading!!

  7. iceydrey March 31, 2014 at 10:32 am Reply

    Came across your blog & your novel by chance and I must say im uber excited to find out what happens next.

    May I know how many chapters are you intending to write?

    • dramatictealeaves March 31, 2014 at 10:47 am Reply

      thanks! I’m basically planning out a few chapters at a time as I go, I know how everything is going to play out, but the chapter numbers are pretty fluid!

  8. iceydrey March 31, 2014 at 10:35 am Reply

    Also, as a longtime fan of Koala’s translations of Tong Hua’s Da Mo Yao, Yun Zhong Ge & Chang Xiang Si, may I also recommend thishttp://koalasplayground.com/tag/lost-you-forever/ for your reading pleasure xp

    • dramatictealeaves March 31, 2014 at 10:53 am Reply

      I loved that novel! When I started writing this novel I was still reading Bu Bu Jing Xing, and writing a few of my chapters at a time. Then I read DMY and YZG, I loved Chang Xiang Si, but at the same time I couldn’t help but be relieved that my main characters were so different from Tong Hua’s. Her writing is so amazing in all get books, her stories are like beautiful pieces of art.

  9. iceydrey March 31, 2014 at 12:09 pm Reply

    Thanks for your replies, great minds think alike! Will we get the longstory on how d demoness managed to possess/share d Crown Prince’s heart?

    Absolutely intrigued by your incorporation of the Madame White Snake story & 12 zodiacs…also loved LY & HW’s relationship hahaha and i missed Fruit Basket hur!

    cant wait for how everything pans out…btw may I know which timezone you & most of your readers are in so I may guess when you might post your chapters???

    • dramatictealeaves March 31, 2014 at 12:39 pm Reply

      No Prob, I love reading the comments! I have that part already planned out, she and the Crown prince will def come back soon. LY and HW are such a fun pair to write for, because that boy practically begs for a beating. I remember marathon ing through fruits basket, it was so good! I live in California, but I usually work until 6 pm . so my updates are during the night!

  10. Little Red March 31, 2014 at 12:36 pm Reply

    So fun to read so many thoughts! ^^
    I owned FB’s books and I was on the Cat team.
    I absolutely love Wei Yun so I can only be happy that WY will be heavily featured.
    Also I’m curious about Yan Su ( I have a huge soft spot for Hong Yuan…), what happened to him? How will be his first meeting with a grown-up ZY?
    Ow please, make this story a very long and developped one.
    I truly hope that I’ll see one day the end of this wonderful story 🙂

    • dramatictealeaves March 31, 2014 at 12:54 pm Reply

      I was so torn between Yuki and the cat, it use to be one of my favorite stories!
      Yes, I’m delving into Wei Yuns back story soon, legends passed down about him are good and everything but the truth trumps gossip at all time, so the reader is going to get to know him much better.

      as for Yan Su, he’s got a special place in my heart too, I’m so excited for the human realm chapters!

Leave a Reply

Drama for Real

Only Raw Drama Reviews

azurro4cielo

Everything that Flash in My Mind ^.^

.............Someone's Corner........... 某人的角

I'll ramble on because I want to....

clover's nook

a welcoming place for every fellow c-novel lover ...

Coffee & Cats

This blog will be consisting of my life trials and various things going on for myself. Let's hope that my life is great entertainment for you all!

大漠謠

小說、討論、電視劇

junjuntianxia

c-novel fensi

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

darkieut's Blog

This WordPress.com site is about my interests and life

dramatictealeaves

Recapping Dramas, Writing, and Adventuring

The A-Philosopher's Chair

Rediscovering the intellectual life through Asian dramas

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

Retro Video Gaming

Atari, Sega, Nintendo & Famicom reviews, videos, cover art and more!

The Fangirl Verdict

Completely biased reviews and fangirling

dangerous Puppetry's Blog

나 알아서 할게 뭔 상관이야?

Hidari's HoMe

Why so serious?!

xiaowen206's Blog

Fulfilling the drama addiction.

Aigooyobo

Escape Fantasy, Embrace Reality

Order of Dynast

Writer. Fangirl. Book Lover.

33 Grams of Blog

Procrastinating, Kingdom Saving, and all other forms of Geekdom

HallyuSG

Where fans, music, and cultures connect.

Meanwhile, Melody Muses...

Poetry to Heal the Heart

dryedmangoez

Television, The Amazing Race, and More!

Messages to Myself

Internal Guidance

The Community Storyboard

Where creativity meets community

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

Abandoned Kansai

All abandoned: Chernobyl / Pripyat, Nara Dreamland, Anti-Zombie Fortress, Japanese Sex Museum - and many, many more! Plus: North Korea Special - 2 trips, 16 days / 14 nights! As seen on CNN...

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

Yoo Ah In SikSeekLand

Yoo Ah In's International Fans Base

Sifu Hallyu

Oppa's take on East Asian Cinema, Kdrama, Kpop, Anime, and SciFi

And The Geek Shall (Inherit the Earth)

Reviews, academia, discussion & general geekery for those who shall one day 'Inherit The Earth'

[ku-măn]

You are your own brand; create yourself

Poco Clouds

I love the soft and fluffy clouds in the sky~

han2fin

Travels and friendship

Tịch Lạc Tuyết

"Mẫu đơn hoa hạ tử, tố quỷ dã phong lưu"

ღTử Vi Cácღ

Yêu thương được cho đi là yêu thương có thể giữ được mãi mãi....

My library

Time for smile :) novels, dramas...

